IODP Proceedings    Volume contents     Search

Expedition 334 science party*

Expedition 334 scientists

Paola Vannucchi
Co-chief Scientist

Earth Science Department
University of Florence
Via La Pira 4
50121 Firenze
Italy
paola.vannucchi@unifi.it

Kohtaro Ujiie
Co-chief Scientist

University of Tsukuba
Graduate School of Life and Environmental Sciences
1-1-1 Tennodai
Tsukuba 305-0006
Japan
kujiie@geol.tsukuba.ac.jp

Nicole Stroncik
Expedition Project Manager/Staff Scientist

Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
nstroncik@gfz-potsdam.de

Alberto Malinverno
Logging Staff Scientist

Borehole Research Group
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University
PO Box 1000, 61 Route 9W
Palisades NY 10964
USA
alberto@ldeo.columbia.edu

Ivonne Arroyo
Geophysicist

IFM-GEOMAR/SFB 574
Leibniz Institute of Marine Sciences
Gebauede 8B
Wischhofstrasse 1-3
24148 Kiel
Germany
iarroyo@ifm-geomar.de

Udo Barckhausen
Downhole Tools/Physical Properties Specialist

Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR)
Stilleweg 2
30655 Hannover
Germany
udo.barckhausen@bgr.de

Marianne J. Conin
Downhole Tools/Physical Properties Specialist

Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Centre Européen de Recherche et d’Enseignement des Géosciences
   de l’Environnement (CEREGE)
Europole de L’Arbois
13545 Aix en Provence
France

Present address (February 2016):
Université de Lorraine
GeoRessources Laboratory
Ecole des Mines de Nancy - campus ARTEM
92 rue Blandan, 54000 Nancy
France
marianne.conin@univ-lorraine.fr

Susan Murr Foley
Paleontologist (nannofossils/diatoms)

Geological Sciences
Florida State University
108 Carraway Building
Tallahassee FL 32306-4100
USA
suz32155@gmail.com

Michael J. Formolo
Organic Geochemist

Department of Geosciences
University of Tulsa
800 South Tucker Drive
Keplinger Hall M231
Tulsa OK 74104-9700
USA
michael-formolo@utulsa.edu

Robert N. Harris
Downhole Tools/Physical Properties Specialist

College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
104 COAS Administration Building
Corvallis OR 97331-5503
USA
rharris@coas.oregonstate.edu

Arnauld Heuret
Structural Geologist

Géosciences
Université de Montpellier II
CC 060
Place Eugene Batallion
34095 Montpellier
France
heuret_arnauld@yahoo.fr

Gary J. Huftile
Structural Geologist

Biogeosciences Discipline
Queensland University of Technology
GPO Box 2434
Brisbane QLD 4001
Australia
g.huftile@qut.edu.au

Jun Kameda
Sedimentologist

University of Tokyo
Department of Earth and Planetary Science
Graduate School of Science
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku
Tokyo 113-0033
Japan
kameda@eps.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Gil Young Kim
Downhole Tools/Physical Properties Specialist

Petroleum and Marine Research Division
Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources (KIGAM)
92 Gwahang-no
Yuseong-gu
Daejeon
Republic of Korea
gykim@kigam.re.kr

Steffen O. Kutterolf
Sedimentologist

IFM-GEOMAR/SFB 574
Leibniz Institute of Marine Sciences
Wischhofstrasse 1-3
24148 Kiel
Germany
skutterolf@ifm-geomar.de

Amanda J. Martino
Microbiologist

Department of Geosciences
Pennsylvania State University
220 Deike Building
University Park PA 16802
USA
ajk16@psu.edu

Gillian A. McCay
Sedimentologist

School of Geosciences
University of Edinburgh
Kings Building
West Mains Road
EH9 3JW Edinburgh
United Kingdom
G.A.McCay@sms.ed.ac.uk

Marianne Nuzzo
Organic Geochemist

Marine Geology Department
Geological Survey of Portugal (LNEG)
Estrada do Zambujal
Apartado 7586
2721-866 Alfragide
Portugal

Present address (January 2014):
Integrated Geochemical Interpretation Ltd
The Granary
Hallsannery
Bideford
EX39 5HE Devon
United Kingdom
Marianne@igiltd.com

Ken’ichi Ohkushi
Paleontologist (foraminifers)

Kobe University
Graduate School of Human Development and Environment
3-11 Tsurukabuto, Nada-ku
Kobe 657-8501
Japan
ohkushi@penguin.kobe-u.ac.jp

Saneatsu Saito
Logging Scientist/Structural Geologist

Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
2-15 Natsushima-cho
Yokosuka 237-0061
Japan
saito@jamstec.go.jp

Peter B. Sak
Sedimentologist

Earth Sciences
Dickinson College
Carlisle PA 17013
USA
sakp@dickinson.edu

Evan A. Solomon
Inorganic Geochemist

School of Oceanography
University of Washington
1501 Northeast Boat Street
Seattle WA 98195-7940
USA
esolomn@u.washington.edu

Michael Stipp
Structural Geologist/Petrologist

IFM-GEOMAR
Leibniz Institute of Marine Sciences
Wischhofstrasse 1-3
24148 Kiel
Germany

Present address (March 2017):
Institute of Geology
Faculty of Geo- and Atmospheric Sciences
University of Innsbruck
Innrain 52
A-6020 Innsbruck
Austria
Michael.Stipp@uibk.ac.at

Marta E. Torres
Inorganic Geochemist

College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
104 Ocean Adminstration Building
Corvallis OR 97331-5503
USA
mtorres@coas.oregonstate.edu

Akito Tsutsumi
Structural Geologist

Kyoto University
Department of Geology and Mineralogy
Graduate School of Science
Kyoto 606-8502
Japan
tsutsumi@kueps.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Masaoki Uno
Petrologist

Tokyo Institute of Technology
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
2-12-1 Ohokayama, Meguro
Tokyo 152-8551
Japan

Present address (February 2016):
Graduate School of Environmental Studies
Tohoku University
Aza-Aoba
6-6-20 Aramaki, Aoba-ku
Sendai 980-8579
Japan
uno@geo.kankyo.tohoku.ac.jp

Yoichi Usui
Paleomagnetist

University of Rochester
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Rochester NY 14627
USA

Present address (April 2011):
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
Mantel and Core Dynamics Research Team
2-15 Natsushima-cho
Yokosuka, Kanugawa 237-0061
Japan
yoichi@jamstec.go.jp

Yatheesh Vadakkeyakath
Downhole Tools/Physical Properties Specialist

National Institute of Oceanography
Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
Dona Paula
403-004 Goa
India
yatheesh@nio.org

Yuzuru Yamamoto
Structural Geologist

Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
3173-25 Showaq-machi, Kanazawa-ku
Yokohama 236-0001
Japan
yuzuru-y@jamstec.go.jp

Xixi Zhao
Paleomagnetist

Earth and Planetary Sciences
University of California Santa Cruz
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz CA 95064
USA
xzhao@ucsc.edu

Junjiang Zhu
Downhole Tools/Physical Properties Specialist

South China Sea Institute of Oceanology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
164 West Xingang Road
Guangzhou
China
zhupeter618@hotmail.com


Education and outreach

Jennifer Saltzman
Education Officer

Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences
School of Earth Sciences
Stanford University
Palo Alto CA 94305
USA
saltzman@stanford.edu

*Addresses at time of expedition, except where updated by the participants.