IODP Proceedings    Volume contents     Search

Expedition 344 science party*

Expedition 344 scientists

Robert N. Harris
Co-Chief Scientist

College of Earth, Oceanic, and Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
104 COAS Administration Building
Corvallis OR 97331-5503
USA
rharris@coas.oregonstate.edu

Arito Sakaguchi
Co-Chief Scientist

Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
3173-25 Showa, Kanazawa-ward
Yokohama 236-0001
Japan

Present address (May 2013):
Department of Earth System Sciences
Yamaguchi University
1677-1 Yoshida
Yamaguchi 753-0841
Japan
arito@yamaguchi-u.ac.jp

Katerina Petronotis
Expedition Project Manager/Staff Scientist

Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
petronotis@iodp.tamu.edu

Alberto Malinverno
Logging Staff Scientist

Borehole Research Group
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University
PO Box 1000, 61 Route 9W
Palisades NY 10964
USA
alberto@ldeo.columbia.edu

Alan T. Baxter
Micropaleontologist (nannofossils)

School of Environmental and Rural Science
Faculty of Arts and Sciences
University of New England
Earth Sciences Building C02, Room 211
Armidale NSW 2351
Australia
alan.baxter@une.edu.au

Richard Berg
Inorganic Geochemist

School of Oceanography
University of Washington
Box 355351
Seattle WA 98195
USA
rickberg@uw.edu

Ashley Burkett
Micropaleontologist (benthic foraminifers)

Department of Earth and Environmental Systems
Indiana State University
Science 175
Terre Haute IN 47807
USA
ashleyburkett14@gmail.com

Delphine Charpentier
Sedimentologist

UMR Chrono-environnement
Université de Franche-Comté
16 Route de Gray
25030 Besançon
France
delphine.charpentier@univ-fcomte.fr

Jiyoung Choi
Organic Geochemist

Petroleum and Marine Resources Research Division
Korea Institute of Geoscience & Mineral Resources (KIGAM)
92 Gwahang-no
Yuseong-gu Daejeon 305-350
Republic of Korea
jychoi@kigam.re.kr

Paula Diz Ferreiro
Micropaleontologist (benthic foraminifers)

Department of Marine Geosciences
Faculty of Marine Sciences
Campus Lagoas—Marcosende
University of Vigo
36310 Vigo
Spain
pauladiz@uvigo.es

Mari Hamahashi
Physical Properties Specialist

Department of Earth and Planetary Science
University of Tokyo
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku
Tokyo 113-0033
Japan

Present address (February 2017):
Earth Observatory of Singapore (EOS)
Asian School of the Environment
Nanyang Technological University
50 Nanyang Avenue
Block N2-01a-15
Singapore 639798
mhamahashi@gmail.com

Yoshitaka Hashimoto
Physical Properties Specialist

Department of Natural Environmental Science
Kochi University
Faculty of Science
Akebonocyo 2-5-1
Kochi 780-8520
Japan
hassy@kochi-u.ac.jp

Ken Heydolph
Organic/Inorganic Geochemist

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
Wischhofstrasse 1-3
24148 Kiel
Germany
kheydolph@geomar.de

Luigi Jovane
Paleomagnetist

Instituto Oceanográfico
Universidade de São Paulo
191 Praça do Oceanográfico
São Paulo SP 05508-120
Brazil
luigijovane@gmail.com

Miriam Kastner
Inorganic Geochemist

Geosciences Research Division
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla CA 92093-0212
USA
mkastner@ucsd.edu

Walter Kurz
Structural Geologist

Institute of Earth Sciences
University of Graz
Heinrichstrasse 26
A-8010 Graz
Austria
walter.kurz@uni-graz.at

Steffen O. Kutterolf
Sedimentologist

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
Wischhofstrasse 1-3
24148 Kiel
Germany
skutterolf@geomar.de

Yong-Xiang Li
Paleomagnetist

Department of Earth Sciences
Nanjing University
22 Hankou Road
Nanjing 210093
People’s Republic of China

Present address (5 November 2015):
School of Earth Sciences and Engineering
Nanjing University
163 Xianlin Avenue
Nanjing 210046
People’s Republic of China
yxli@nju.edu.cn

Kylara M. Martin
Physical Properties Specialist

Naval Research Laboratory
1005 Balch Boulevard
Stennis Space Center MS 39529
USA
kylara.martin.ctr@nrlssc.navy.mil
kylara@utexas.edu

Cristina Millan
Sedimentologist

School of Earth Sciences
Ohio State University
275 Mendenhall Laboratory
125 South Oval
Columbus OH 43210-1308
USA
millan.2@osu.edu

Débora B. Nascimento
Petrologist

Departamento de Geologia
Instituto de Geociâncias
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
274 Avenida Athos da Silveira Ramos
Rio de Janeiro RJ 21941-916
Brazil
debora@geologia.ufrj.br

Saneatsu Saito
Core-Log-Seismic Integration Specialist

Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
2-15 Natsushima-cho
Yokosuka 237-0061
Japan
saito@jamstec.go.jp

Maria I. Sandoval Gutierrez
Micropaleontologist (radiolarians)

Institut de Geologie et Paleontologi
Université de Lausanne
IGP Quartier
UNIL-Dorigny Batiment Anthropole
1015 Lausanne
Switzerland

Present address (September 2015):
Escuela de GeologĂ­a, Oficina 321
Universidad de Costa Rica
Sede Rodrigo Facio
San Pedro de Montes de Oca
Costa Rica
mariaisabel.sandoval@ucr.ac.cr

Elizabeth J. Screaton
Physical Properties Specialist

Department of Geological Sciences
University of Florida
241 Williamson
Box 112120
Gainesville FL 32611
USA
screaton@ufl.edu

Christopher E. Smith-Duque
Igneous Petrologist

National Oceanography Centre
University of Southampton
European Way
Southampton SO14 3ZH
United Kingdom
csd2@noc.soton.ac.uk

Evan A. Solomon
Inorganic Geochemist

School of Oceanography
University of Washington
Box 355351
Seattle WA 98195-7940
USA
esolomn@uw.edu

Susanne M. Straub
Sedimentologist

Geochemistry Division
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University
61 Route 9W
Palisades NY 10964
USA
smstraub@ldeo.columbia.edu

Wataru Tanikawa
Physical Properties Specialist

Kochi Institute for Core Sample Research
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
200 Monobe-otsu, Nankoku
Kochi 781-8502
Japan
tanikawa@jamstec.go.jp

Marta E. Torres
Inorganic Geochemist

College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
104 COAS Administration Building
Corvallis OR 97331-5503
USA
mtorres@coas.oregonstate.edu

Hitomi Uchimura
Micropaleontologist (benthic foraminifers)

Graduate School of Science and Technology
Kumamoto University
2-39-1 Kurokami
Kumamoto 860-8555
Japan
h.uchimura.foram@gmail.com

Paola Vannucchi
Structural Geologist

Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
3173-25 Showa, Kanazawa-ward
Yokohama 236-0001
Japan
paolav@geo.unifi.it

Present address:
Department of Earth Sciences
Royal Holloway, University of London
Egham, Surrey TW20 OEX
United Kingdom
paola.vannucchi@rhul.ac.uk

Yuzuru Yamamoto
Structural Geologist

Institute for Research on Earth Evolution (IFREE)
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
3173-25 Showaq-machi, Kanazawa-ku
Yokohama 236-0001
Japan
yuzuru-y@jamstec.go.jp

Quanshu Yan
Igneous Petrologist

Department of Marine Geology
First Institute of Oceanography (FIO)
State Oceanic Administration (SOA)
6 Xianxialing Road
High-tech and industrial zone
Qingdao
People’s Republic of China
yanquanshu@163.com

Xixi Zhao
Paleomagnetist

Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
University of California, Santa Cruz
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz CA 95064
USA
xzhao@ucsc.edu


Education and outreach

Thanos Fatouros
Videographer

Neoptolemou 42
Vyronas
162 32 Athens
Greece
thanos.fatouros@gmail.com

Dena Rosenberger
Education Officer

El Capitan High School
Lakeside CA 92040
USA
drosenberger@guhsd.net

*Addresses at time of expedition, except where updated by the participants.